Computer Gaming Research (June)

TOPICS, KEYWORDS, AND LIBRARY RESOURCES

GAMING ADDICTION

Additional Keywords: video game addiction

Best databases for this topic:

Gale in Context: Global Issues

SIRS (Social Issues Researcher)

Addictions & Substance Abuse eBook


INTERNET SAFETY

Additional Keywords: “online security”

Best databases for this topic:

Gale in Context: Global Issues

SIRS (Social Issues Researcher)


MALWARE

Best databases for this topic:

Gale in Context: Global Issues

SIRS (Social Issues Researcher)


ONLINE BULLYING

Additional Keywords: cyberbullying

Best databases for this topic:

Gale in Context: Global Issues

SIRS (Social Issues Researcher)


SOFTWARE PIRACY

Additional Keywords: “online piracy” or “cybercrime”

Best databases for this topic:

Gale in Context: Global Issues

SIRS (Social Issues Researcher)

SCRAP TEST

If the website fails in any of these areas, then SCRAP IT and find a new one!

(Starting with the Authoritative section will save you time.)

SOUND/SOLID

Is the information supported by evidence?

Are citations or links to other sources provided–and do the linked sites seem credible?

Can you verify the information through other sources?

Is the source nearly free of spelling, grammar, or mechanical errors?

CURRENT

How recently was the information published or revised?

How important is currency to your particular topic?

For websites: Are links to other sites functional and up-to-date?

RELEVANT

Does the source provide the information you need?

Is the level appropriate (not too elementary, not too scholarly)?

Is the information too broad or narrow for your topic, or just right?

Can you find this information elsewhere, possibly in a better source?

***AUTHORITATIVE***

What are the publisher/sponsoring org’s credentials? (Check “ABOUT,” or similar link)

Does the publisher/sponsoring org have a solid reputation?

What are the author’s credentials? Is the person an expert or professional journalist?

Is the “ABOUT” page accurate? What does a search of the author or org reveal?

PURPOSE

What is the main purpose of the source: To inform, persuade, or sell?

Can you find a clear statement of purpose for the organization/author?

How does this information make you feel? Note your emotional response.

Is bias or point of view clearly stated?

If the piece is opinion-based, is it clearly labeled as such?

Is advertising clearly separated from content?


© Developed by Lincoln-Sudbury RHS, reproducible for free educational use only

CITATION

CITATION GENERATORS

MyBib

NoodleTools (also notecards, auto-generated Works Cited)

[NOTE: Databases provide you with citations, so you do not need to use a citation generator to create citations for database articles. It's easier to just copy and paste the citations from the database into the generator.]

CITATION EXAMPLES/GUIDANCE

MLA In-Text Citations: The Basics (Purdue OWL)

MLA Sample Works Cited Page