History: Muckraking (Cooke, Jacobs)

LIBRARY DATABASES

DATABASES WITH overviews and articles

[Click here for Database Passwords]

Newspaper articles only (no overviews)

CITATION


Citation Basics:

  • Citation means crediting information from a source that you used in your research and writing, by giving some identifying information about the source.

  • Citation has 2 aspects; you must do BOTH:

  1. Rewrite ideas from the source material (change words and sentence structure) OR provide a direct quotation ("...using quotes").

  2. Give credit to the information source (on the Works Cited page and in footnotes). You must do this even if you put the information in your own words.

  • A variety of citation styles exist for different fields of study. For this project, use MLA 8 citation style with footnotes.

CITATION EXAMPLES:


Citation Generators:

To create your MLA 8 Works Cited list, try one of these citation generators:

NOTE: Databases provide completed citations, so you do not need to enter the individual database elements into a citation generator's fields. Just copy and paste the entire database citation into the citation generator.

TIPS FOR CQ RESEARCHER AND SIRS

Tips for CQ Researcher

  • Check that the article is fairly recent (probably published in the last 5 years). Some topics will not have a recent article in CQ Researcher: In that case, go to Opposing Viewpoints or SIRS.

  • Do not print the entire report.

In CQ Researcher, choose MLA Citation:

  • Click Cite Now! on the top right side of the page.

  • Choose MLA from the Menu at the top of the box.

  • Copy and paste the MLA citation on your Works Cited page.

These are the most useful CQ menu items for this assignment-------------------------------------------->

CQ Report Menu Description. The most helpful items are: Overview (Statistics, stories), Current Situation (What's happening now), Outlook (Possible future solutions), Short Features (Articles about specific situations related to the topic), and Maps/Graphs (Visual graphics that fulfill the image requirements).

Tips for SIRS

  • Using the blue links at the top left, you can sort by date or relevance.

  • Check out the subject links at the bottom of the page. If a subject seems to fit your topic well, then click it for more relevant results.

These are the most useful SIRS menu items for this assignment---------------------------------------------->

SIRS Menu description: The best menu items for this assignment are: Newspapers, Reference, and Multimedia / Statistics.

General Search Tips

Quotation Marks

Use quotations to find an exact phrase. For example:

“body image”

“global warming”

“gun control”

“Supreme Court”


Advanced Search and Sorting Results

Most databases provide links or a drop-down menu to sort by relevance or date.

Most databases offer a link called Advanced or Advanced Search. Using Advanced Search, you can:

      • limit the date range

      • limit the document type

      • refine your keyword search

Truncation

Truncation means that a symbol is added to the end of a word root (when searching in a database). The symbol is usually an asterisk * and it tells the database to search for all forms of that word.

For example, if you type censor* in a database's search box, then you will get articles with all instances of the word censor, such as:

  • censor

  • censors

  • censored

  • censoring

  • censorship

Note: using an asterisk to truncate does not work in the New York Times database.

SCREENCASTS