History: Psychology Case Conference (Herbert, Hodin, Murphy)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

DSM-5 and Websites

DSM-5

Click here to access the DSM-5 online resource


Websites

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill website (scroll down that page and click your topic)

National Institute for Mental Health website (scroll down that page and click your topic)

U.S. National Library of Medicine website (scroll down that page and click your topic)

American Psychiatric Association website (use the search box to find your topic)

American Psychological Association website (use the search box to find your topic)

ICD-10 Classification of Mental and Behavior Disorders


Databases, eBooks, and Google Scholar

L-S LIBRARY Psychology Databases & eBooks

L-S Library Database Passwords (to access databases from home)

Health & Wellness (Gale) (reference and journal articles)

OneFile: Health & Medicine (Gale) (journal articles)

Addiction and Substance Abuse Reference eBook (Gale)


Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Screencast about Google Scholar


Boston Public Library Database: JSTOR

JSTOR contains digitized back issues of academic journals. It is available through the Boston Public Library (BPL). Please read the following instructions carefully.

If you already have a BPL eCard or a physical BPL card, then go to BPL’s Psychology and Sociology Resources page and click JSTOR. When prompted, enter your BPL ecard or BPL library card info.

If you do not have a BPL eCard or a physical BPL card, then sign up for a BPL eCard. After you have signed up, then go to the Psychology and Sociology Resources page and click JSTOR. Use the number that was emailed to you along with the PIN you chose to access it.

Books and Library Catalogs

Psychology reference books, including the print version of the DSM-5, are on a book cart.

You may be able to find more books about a particular disorder through our library and other libraries:

L-S Book Catalog

Minuteman Library Network Catalog

Boston Public Library Catalog

Search Tips for Databases

Finding specific aspects of the disorder

To find relevant journal articles, you may want to narrow your search. For specific treatments, causes, or behaviors related to a disorder, try looking at the NIMH website. If you are still having difficulty identifying specific aspects of the disorder, then put the disorder name and a relevant keyword into a Google search. Example searches:

"anorexia nervosa" and treatment

depression and causes

"borderline personality disorder" and behavior

Once you have specific search terms (e.g., cognitive behavioral therapy, antidepressants, etc.), then go to a database and use these terms along with the disorder. For example:

"anorexia nervosa" and "nutritional counseling"

depression and genetics

"borderline personality disorder" and “distorted self-image"

Quotation Marks

Use quotations to find an exact phrase. For example:

"personality disorder"

"attachment disorder"

"post-traumatic stress disorder"

"social anxiety phobia"

"anorexia nervosa"


TRUNCATION (USING AN ASTERISK*)

Truncation finds different forms of the same word, in a single search. In truncation, a symbol is added to the end of a word root. Often, the symbol for truncation is an asterisk * . The asterisk tells the database to search for all forms of that word.

For example, typing censor* in a database finds these results:

censor

censors

censored

censoring

censorship

Why use truncation? If a word has various endings and those variants essentially refer to the same concept, then truncation can save time, as it offers more complete search results in a single search. (Some word roots do not work well with truncation, because the word roots diverge into different concepts–for example, minor* would find minor, minors, minority, minorities, etc. or wom* would find womb, wombat, women, woman, etc.)

NOTE: An asterisk does truncation in the Advanced Search field of most–though not all–databases. If using a truncation symbol such as an asterisk, you may need to use the word “and” between your keyword terms (to avoid an error message). Each database offers a "Help" section which may provide its own specific guidance about truncation.


ADVANCED SEARCHING AND SORTING RESULTS

Most databases provide links or a drop-down menu to sort by relevance or date.

Most databases have a link called Advanced or Advanced Search. Using Advanced Search, you can:

  • limit the date range

  • limit the document type

  • refine your keyword search

Citation

Cite sources as you find them, using APA 7 Style.

Most LS Library databases provide citations (below the article, or via a link).

Citation Generators:

MyBib

NoodleTools (see "NoodleTools" section below)

IMPORTANT NOTE:

LS Library databases provide complete citations. Just copy the entire APA 7 citation and paste it into your citation generator:

  • In MyBib: Click More and choose Write/Paste citation (end of list).

  • In NoodleTools: First, choose the type of citation you want. Then, you'll have the option to Quick cite. These directions show more.

Citation Basics:

  • Citation means crediting information from a source used in your research. Your citation gives some identifying information about the source you used.

  • For this project, use APA 7 citation style.

Waffle menu with NoodleTools logo

NOODLETOOLS

  • Create and organize your citations and notes.

  • To sign in: Log in to your LS Google account, click the waffle menu, and scroll down to NoodleTools (see image on the left).

  • If you need help, please ask Paula or Peter.