HISTORY: 10th Grade - Civics Project
Table of Contents for this Webpage
LS Library Databases
GENERAL DATABASES:
American Mosaic: The African American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly)
Global Issues in Context (Gale)
SIRS (Social Issues Researcher)
U.S. History in Context (Gale)
World at War: Conflict and Society (ABC-CLIO) (ABC-CLIO)
World History in Context (Gale)
NEWSPAPER DATABASES:
Boston Globe (ProQuest) (Coverage: 1980-present)
New York Times (Gale) (Coverage: 1985-present)
Primary Sources
Digital Public Library of America
Boston Globe (ProQuest) (Coverage: 1980-present)
National Archives (after searching, click the “Available Online” tab)
New York Times (Gale) (Coverage: 1985-present)
Time Magazine Archives (EBSCO) (Coverage: Mar 1923-Dec 2000)
Local History Resources
Lincoln Historical Society (“Links” page might be helpful, as it shows local organizations)
Sudbury History Resources from the Goodnow Library (in particular, the Sudbury Newspaper Archive might be helpful)
Books / Library Catalogs
LS LIBRARY CATALOGS
LS Book Catalog (find books in our school library)
PUBLIC LIBRARY CATALOGS
NOTE: If you request public library books online, you will receive an email when the books are ready. Follow that email's instructions about pick-up.
Minuteman Library Network Catalog
How do I get a public library card?
Citation
CITATION GENERATORS:
NoodleTools (see "NoodleTools" section below)
IMPORTANT NOTE: LS Library databases provide complete citations. Just copy the entire MLA 9 citation and paste it into your citation generator:
In MyBib: Click More and choose Write/Paste citation (end of list).
In NoodleTools: First, choose the type of citation you want. Then, you'll have the option to Quick cite. These directions show more.
CITATION BASICS:
Citation means crediting info from a source that you used. To cite, you provide identifying information about the source.
Citation has 2 aspects; you must do BOTH:
Rewrite ideas from the source (change words and sentence structure) OR provide a direct quotation.
Give credit to the source. You must do this even if you put the information in your own words.
Waffle menu with NoodleTools logo
NOODLETOOLS
Create and organize your citations and notes.
To sign in: Log in to your LS Google account, click the waffle menu, and scroll down to NoodleTools (see image on the left).
If you need help, please ask Paula or Kiley.