HISTORY: MODERN WORLD - Decolonization (Cooke)
Databases:
AtoZ World Culture (for slides 4, 5, and 6)
World History in Context (try country AND independence; country AND decolonization)
World at War: Conflict & Society (try country AND independence; country AND decolonization)
NOTE: Map as History username and password (for all the Map as History links below):
library500 lsrhs
Other Online Resources (Videos, Articles):
Angola
Map as History video, “Decolonization for Portugal’s African colonies” - map 11.13 [1:29 min]
Office of the Historian: Milestones 1969-1976 article
South African History Online (SAHO) article
SAHO Angolan Civil War article
Benin (formerly Dahomey)
Map as History video, “Decolonization of French black Africa” - map 11.11 [3:45 min]
Africa News, “Reflections on its 60 Post-Colonial Years” video [1:00 min]
SAHO Benin article
Botswana
Map as History video, “Decolonization of the United Kingdom’s territories in Africa” - map 11.9 [5:28 min]
Embassy of the Republic of Botswana history page
SAHO Botswana article
Burma (Myanmar)
Map as History video, “Decolonization of Burma, Ceylon and Malaysia” - map 11.5 [2:50 min]
New Internationalist “A Short History of Burma” article
Asian Geographic “The Road to Independence: Burma (1945-1962)” article
Chad
Map as History video, “Decolonization of French black Africa” - map 11.11 [3:45 min]
Deutsche Welle (DW) article, “How free is Chad 60 years after independence?”
BBC News - Chad profile timeline
Egypt
International Center on Nonviolent Conflict article, “Egyptian Independence: 1919-22”
OpenLearn article, “After the First World War: the 1919 Egyptian Revolution”
Indonesia
Map as History video, “Decolonization for the Indonesian Archipelago” - map 11.6 [2:12 min]
New World Encyclopedia article “Indonesian War of Independence”
Liberia
America’s Library timeline section on Western Expansion and Reform (1829-1859)
Office of the Historian: Milestones 1830-1860 article
PBS Global Connections article - includes links to videos
Madagascar
Map as History video, “Decolonization of French black Africa” - map 11.11 [3:45 min]
Africa News video “Madagascar remembers its battle for independence”
African American Registry article “Madagascar Gains Independence from France”
Malaysia / Singapore
Map as History video, “Decolonization of Burma, Ceylon and Malaysia” - map 11.5 [2:50 min]
MyGovernment summary of Malaysia’s History
History SG (A Singapore Government Agency Website) article “Singapore separates from Malaysia and becomes independent”
Mozambique
Map as History video, “Decolonization for Portugal’s African colonies” - map 11.13 [1:29 min]
Encyclopedia.com article “Mozambique: Independence and a Dirty War”
BBC Mozambique country profile
Nigeria
Map as History video, “Decolonization of the United Kingdom’s territories in Africa” - map 11.9 [5:28 min]
BBC News article “Nigeria’s Independence: Six images from six decades”
France24 video “From self-rule to civil war: Nigeria’s independence, 60 years on” [1:53 min]
Philippines
National WWII Museum article “July 4, 1946: The Philippines Gained Independence from the United States”
Truman Library proclamation “Independence of the Philippines”
US House of Representatives: History, Art & Archives article “The Philippines, 1898-1946”
Rwanda
Map as History video, “Decolonization for Belgium’s African colonies” - map 11.12 [1:58 min]
University of Pennsylvania African Studies Center, East Africa Living Encyclopedia entry
PBS Frontline Rwanda timeline
Senegal
Map as History video, “Decolonization of French black Africa” - map 11.11 [3:45 min]
African American Registry article “Senegal Gains Independence from France”
Face2Face Africa article “Senegal at 58: The long struggle for independence in 1960”
News Central TV video “A Brief History of Senegal From Independence til Date”
Sierra Leone
Map as History video, “Decolonization of the United Kingdom’s territories in Africa” - map 11.9 [5:28 min]
New African article “Sierra Leone: How Independence Was Won”
United Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in Sierra Leone article
Sudan
Map as History video, “Decolonization of the United Kingdom’s territories in Africa” - map 11.9 [5:28 min]
Enough Project, Enough 101 article “Sudan: Independence through Civil Wars, 1956-2005”
BBC Sudan country profile
Uganda
Map as History video, “Decolonization of the United Kingdom’s territories in Africa” - map 11.9 [5:28 min]
Uganda High Commission Pretoria article “Uganda’s Political History”
University of Central Arkansas Political Science Uganda timeline
CITATION BASICS:
Citation has 2 aspects; you must do BOTH:
Rewrite ideas from the source OR provide a direct quotation ("...using quotes").
Give credit to the information source. You must do this even if you put the information in your own words.
A variety of citation styles exist for different fields of study. For this project, use MLA 9 citation style.
Example Works Cited page
CITATION GENERATORS:
To create your MLA 9 Works Cited list, try one of these citation generators:
NoodleTools (see more info in the "NoodleTools" section below)
IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT DATABASE CITATIONS:
LS Library databases provide complete citations. Just copy the entire MLA 9 citation from the database and paste it into your citation generator:
In MyBib: Click More and choose Write/Paste citation (end of list).
In NoodleTools: First, choose the type of citation you want. Then, you'll have the option to Quick cite. These directions show more.