History: RPI RESEARCH (HERBERT)
TABLE OF CONTENTS FOR THIS WEBPAGE
Library Databases
LS Library Database Passwords (to access databases outside of LS building)
DATABASES WITH overviews and articles
DATABASES WITH articles only (no overviews)
eBooks
Credible Web Sources
To check the credibility of a source, try the SCRAP Test.
Examples of credible web sources:
Atlantic Smithsonian Magazine
The Economist Time Magazine
New Yorker U.S. News & World Report
NPR
Library Catalogs (to find nonfiction books)
LS LIBRARY CATALOGS
LS Book Catalog (find books in our school library)
PUBLIC LIBRARY CATALOGS
NOTE: If you request public library books online, you will receive an email when the books are ready. Follow those pick-up instructions.
Minuteman Library Network Catalog
How do I get a public library card?
Citation
Citation Basics
Citation means crediting information from a source that you used in your research and writing. When you cite, you give some identifying information about the source you used.
Citation has 2 aspects; you must do BOTH:
Rewrite ideas from the source (change words and sentence structure) OR provide a direct quotation ("...using quotes").
Give credit to the information source. You must do this even if you put the information in your own words.
A variety of citation styles exist for different fields of study. For this project, use MLA 9 citation style.
Example Works Cited page
Citation Generators
To create your MLA 9 Works Cited list, try one of these citation generators:
NoodleTools (see more info in the "NoodleTools" section below)
IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT DATABASE CITATIONS:
LS Library databases provide complete citations. Just copy the entire MLA 9 citation from the database and paste it into your citation generator:
In MyBib: Click More and choose Write/Paste citation (end of list).
In NoodleTools: First, choose the type of citation you want. Then, you'll have the option to Quick cite. These directions show more.
Format Citations in Google Docs
Hanging Indent:
Highlight the entries in your Works Cited List.
Click Format > Align & Indent > Indentation Options.
In the "Indentation Options" pop-up box:
Under "Special Indent," choose "Hanging Indent" from the drop-down.
Enter 0.5 as the value, if it is not already filled in for you.
Line Spacing:
Your Works Cited page should be double-spaced.
The whole document should be double-spaced without extra spacing. You may need to delete a line space between each citation, if you had one in there.
Waffle menu with NoodleTools logo
NoodleTools
Can help you create and organize your citations and notes.
To sign in: Log in to your LS Google account, click the waffle menu, and scroll down to NoodleTools (see image on the left).
If you need help, please check in with Paula or Ellen.
Avoiding Plagiarism / Writing a Thesis / Taking Notes
AVOiDING PLAGIARISM:
Citation and Plagiarism (tips to help you)
How to Quote, Paraphrase, and Summarize
Plagiarism Handout (to go with library lesson)
WRITING YOUR THESIS:
Thesis Builder (ElectraGuide)
Thesis Examples (note, these are draft examples, not perfectly-polished thesis statements)
Slides (from in-class presentations)
Session 1 Slides: Research Process, Keywords, Reference Book Cart, Overview Databases
Session 2 Slides: Research Emotions, more on Keywords, "Article Only" Databases, LS Library Catalog, Session 2 Exit Ticket
Session 3 Slides: Thesis Builder
Session 4 Slides: Preventing / Avoiding / Recognizing Plagiarism