Postcolonial Literature Project (Garfield)
Gale PowerSearch (Gale)
PowerSearch performs a comprehensive search of Gale databases.
Search, then click "Books" to find an overview article for your subject.
Seek out narrower articles (in academic journals, newspapers, or magazines) after getting an overview source.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
This database has additional articles that are not captured in the Gale PowerSearch.
News (Gale OneFile) -
Offers newspapers from various countries, coverage varies
World History: the Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
Basic reference coverage and definitions (not in-depth)
JSTOR DATABASE
JSTOR offers digitized back issues of academic journals. This database is provided by the Boston Public Library (BPL).
If you have a BPL eCard or a physical BPL card, then:
Go to BPL's A-Z Online Resources, then click JSTOR.
Enter your BPL eCard number and PIN. (Or, if you have a physical BPL card, use that account info.)
[If you DO NOT have a BPL eCard or a physical BPL card, then sign up for a BPL eCard. Check your email for the eCard number–and remember your PIN. Then follow the above directions.]
SCHOLARLY ARTICLES ON GOOGLE
After searching Google Scholar, look for the results that show a PDF document (as those are the freely-accessible articles).
EBOOKS
LIBRARY CATALOGS
LS LIBRARY CATALOGS
LS Book Catalog (find books in our school library)
PUBLIC LIBRARY CATALOGS
NOTE: If you request public library books online, you will receive an email when the books are ready.
Minuteman Library Network Catalog
Commonwealth Catalog (last resort)
How do I get a public library card?
CITATION
Cite sources as you find them, using MLA 9 Style.
Most LS Library databases provide citations (below the article, or via a link).
CITATION GENERATORS
NoodleTools (also notecards, auto-generated Works Cited)
[NOTE: Databases provide you with citations, so you do not need to use a citation generator to cite database articles.]